He Whakaputanga

He Whakaputanga

The Declaration of Independence, 1835

In May 2017 the exhibition He Tohu opens at the National Library in Wellington. This celebrates three founding documents in New Zealand’s history – He Whakaputanga: The Declaration of Independence (1835), the Treaty of Waitangi: Te Tiriti o Waitangi (1840) and the Women’s Suffrage Petition (1893). The originals of these documents will be on display at the National Library, in a wonderful exhibition that tells the history of the times and the story of the documents themselves.

BWB is producing three slim paperbacks showcasing each of the documents, published in conjunction with the National Library and Archives New Zealand. Each book will be focussed on the document itself, and feature a facsimile of the document (or part of it). The documents are framed by an introduction from leading scholars (Claudia Orange, Vincent O’Malley and Barbara Brookes), and a Māori perspective on the document in te reo. Short biographies of many signatories are included – showing the wide range of people who signed. The books are printed in full colour so that the richness of these significant, old documents is shown.

Available in paperback and ebook formats using the ‘Buy’ buttons on this page. For more information on these purchase options please visit our Sales FAQs page or contact us.

Print publication:
Ebook publication: May 2017
Pages: 70
ISBN: 9781988533032
DOI: 10.7810/9781988533032


Dame Claudia Orange, Dr Aroha Harris and Morgan Godfery, chaired by Mihingarangi Forbes, will discuss He Whakaputanga and Te Tiriti o Waitangi at a free public talk at the Auckland Art Gallery on Sunday 20 August - see the event page for more details.