He Whakaputanga and Te Tiriti o Waitangi – and their Signatories

He Whakaputanga and Te Tiriti o Waitangi – and their Signatories

Sunday 20 August, 3pm to 4pm
Auckland Art Gallery auditorium, lower ground floor
All welcome, no rsvp needed.

Panel: Dame Claudia Orange, Aroha Harris, Morgan Godfery
Chair: Hirini Kaa

He Whakaputanga/The Declaration of Independence, signed between 1835 and 1839, was a powerful assertion of mana and rangatiratanga. It was followed in 1840 by Te Tiriti o Waitangi/the Treaty of Waitangi, signed in 1840 by 540 rangatira around the country. Talking with Mihingarangi Forbes, Dr Aroha Harris, Dame Claudia Orange and Morgan Godfery discuss the significance of these two New Zealand documents – and the people who signed them.

Thank you to Creative New Zealand for supporting this event.

About the Speakers

Dame Claudia Orange is an Honorary Research Fellow at the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa. She has published widely on Treaty of Waitangi issues, early New Zealand history and twentieth-century race relations.

Aroha Harris (Te Rarawa, Ngāpuhi) is a Senior Lecturer in History at the University of Auckland and a member of the Waitangi Tribunal. She is a co-editor of the award-winning Tangata Whenua: An Illustrated History (BWB, 2014).

Morgan Godfery (Te Pahipoto, Lalomanu) is a Wellington-based writer who specalises in Māori issues and politics. He is the editor of The Interregnum: Rethinking New Zealand (BWB, 2016).

Hirini Kaa (Ngati Porou, Ngati Kahungunu, Rongowhakaata) is a Lecturer in History at the University of Auckland. He has previously worked in the social services sector, for the Anglican Church and his iwi.

Event Date time: 
Sunday, August 20, 2017 -
15:00 to 16:00