Ockham New Zealand Book Awards

Ockham New Zealand Book Awards

See BWB's shortlisted authors Ben Schrader and Barbara Brookes at the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards!

An auspicious all-welcome gathering to honour the best New Zealand fiction, non-fiction, illustrated non-fiction, and poetry published in 2016. All 16 finalists, and the four Best First Book Award winners, read from their work before the grand winners are announced in this lively celebration of our literary mother lode. MC-ed by author and comedian Michele A’Court.

Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize:

Catherine Chidgey; Owen Marshall; Emma Neale; C.K. Stead.

Poetry Award:

Tusiata Avia; Hera Lindsay Bird; Andrew Johnston; Gregory Kan.

Royal Society Te Aparangi Award for General Non-Fiction:

Anthony Byrt; Adam Dudding; Ben Schrader; Ashleigh Young.

Illustrated Non-Fiction Award:

Barbara Brookes; Warren Moran; Clare McIntosh and Zara Stanhope (Editors); Peter Simpson.

  • 7:00pm – 8:30pm
  • ASB Theatre, Aotea Centre
  • General $15
    Patrons $12.50
    Students $12.50
Please note: This event is not managed by BWB.
Event Date time: 
Tuesday, May 16, 2017 -
19:00 to 20:30